Duck – Stella Feehily

There are some forceful moments in Duck, a play about the rough life lived by teenage girls in contemporary Dublin. It begins with a literal bang, the explosion of an expensive jeep by one Catherine Lynch (Ruth Negga), nineteen  ...

The Far Side of the Moon – Robert Lepage

First performed at Le Theatre du Trident in Quebec in 2000 and touring ever since, Robert Lepage’s The Far Side of the Moon is a spellbinding piece which takes its audience on many journeys. Though there are no allusions  ...

The Harlequin Studies – Bill Irwin

One man on a bare stage under a strong white light–show business doesn't get more unforgiving than that. But the engaging Bill Irwin needs no forgiveness. Poised, in complete command of a graceful body in eloquent motion(ditto his mobile  ...

Entertainment – Alex Johnston

Ruminations on life, death, conscience and morality are presented in the form of a self-reflexive stand-up routine by writer and performer Alex Johnston. Touted as a ‘play’ and ‘directed’ by Bedrock Theatre Company Artistic Director Jimmy Fay, Entertainment is  ...

After Mrs. Rochester – Polly Teale

After Mrs. Rochester is an exploration of the life of Jean Rhys, author of Wide Sargasso Sea (1957), a novel which invents the childhood and early life of Mrs. Rochester, the insane and violent wife of Rochester in Charlotte  ...

Gem of the Ocean – August Wilson

For fans of August Wilson, Gem of the Ocean is a not to be missed event. Beautifully staged with set by David Gallo and direction by Marion McClinton, Gem of the Ocean, unfortunately misses for much of the remainder  ...

Auntie & Me – Morris Panych

The marketing campaign for the recent film About Schmidt made a fairly melancholic study of an older man’s slow realization of his many small failures in life look like a knockabout feel-good comedy. Scenes which in context formed part  ...

A Bad Friend – Jules Feiffer

Once upon a time in 1953 it was dangerous to be a "Progressive," a euphemism for a Communist, of whom there were many among the Jewish population in New York, especially in Brooklyn. A member of the community by  ...